Picture
"Kill them with kindness." I have always loved this saying since the first moment I heard it. My friend was crying to his mom about some mean boys in his class. He had tried standing up to the bullies, and he even hurled insults back at them, but neither of those attempts seemed to stop the boys from harassing him. In an attempt to help her son diffuse his problem, my friend's mother told him to "kill them with kindness."

Perhaps I didn't fully understand the meaning of this quote when I first heard it spoken, but I liked the images that went through my mind. I pictured the bullies falling to the ground, incapable of causing my friend any more harm simply because he was kind to them. After getting discouraged over all of the anger and hate I see spread through electronic media, the questions still nag at me. Can that really happen? Can we really disarm angry mobs through benevolence? I think we can, but it will take some work.

This blog is an attempt to kill the negative, divisive tone that spreads too quickly across social media, news outlets, talk radio, and other outlets. Please join me in celebrating the best in people. Let's kill the anger.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a writer, an artist, an athlete, a brother. I have the crazy dream of making my part of the world a better place. I like to do kind things in secret and observe the joy I bring into other people's lives. I love to share my views, but I will do whatever it takes to avoid the spotlight. 

    I can't stand seeing others being treated unjustly. I hate the direction our government is taking this country. Since when did taking care of those who can't take care of themselves become evil? Everybody deserves to be treated with dignity, and I think we all appreciate when someone else has offered to lift us up.

    I am your neighbor, a student, a teacher, your brother, and your son. I am Mystery McMann.

    Archives

    November 2013

    Categories

    All